PDA

View Full Version : Hello everyone!

dubleon
06-10-2010, 09:27 PM
I've wanted an NSX since I sat in a red one at a car show when I was about 14, somehow I can't get over it. I have been driving for Mini Cooper S for the last 2 years and at 26 find myself in the position to perhaps own one.

While I may need a dose of realism (god knows what my insurance will be- accountant, safe area, 2 year NCB and 3 points. Maybe classic car insurance is an option?) I should be able to rustle about 15k+ together.

I understand that is a rather low entry point and it is likely a number of issues will need to be addressed on the car unless I am lucky.

Has anyone else bought a car at this level? I understand that I may settle with an import/ automatic but would love a manual. Also do any of you use these cars daily?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts you may have.

Best Wishes,

Leon

jpspringall
08-10-2010, 08:20 PM
Hi Leon,

First off I’ll start this off by saying this is my experience/opinion so others may well disagree with me but…

I was in much the same boat as you, I first got in one in 2002 and have wanted one ever since, and 4 months ago the dream was realised.

I bought an 1997 Targa Auto for 22K after I had it checked over, with the same idea as you as using it as my every day car. I’ve however since bottled it and got another car, this down to a number of reasons:

I’m not sure what the roads are like where you live, but here in the fens the roads aren’t of the greatest quality, and the first time I go anywhere ‘new’ I have to tip-toe to ensure I’m not going to catch the bottom etc
I’m not happy leaving it anywhere, as an example, I did the great north run this year, so had to drive up to Newcastle and the idea of leaving in the NSX in a multi-storey for a night wasn’t really appealing, and I would have spent the entire time worrying