PDA

View Full Version : NSX any good as a trackday car?

futurespec
15-12-2009, 12:02 PM
Anyone with any experience of the NSX as a trackday car?

My first thoughts are with tyres .... they wear fast enough anyway but what are they like on the track?

Any particular tyre most suited to trackdays?

What mods to suspension and brakes are advised?

In my previous post I asked about rim sizes ..... for track use any suggestions?

If the 'incorrect' ratio rims (front to rear) are used would this have any adverse longterm effect on the TCS or ABS systems..... (sorry I am not a techie so do not understand the implications!)

TIA

simonprelude
15-12-2009, 12:08 PM
If the 'incorrect' ratio rims (front to rear) are used would this have any adverse longterm effect on the TCS or ABS systems..... (sorry I am not a techie so do not understand the implications!)

It's common to switch TCS off on track anyway.

markc
15-12-2009, 02:47 PM
Anyone with any experience of the NSX as a trackday car?

Dedicated or occassional?

As the saying goes "I wouldn't start from here if I were you" :)

However some brave souls have, check here... http://www.nsxcb.co.uk/testvb/forumdisplay.php?f=24
and here...
http://www.projectnsx.co.uk/

Also, check the posts made by "forumadmin" and "modarr" our resident, or formerly so, track day experts.

In general they're expensive to turn into dedicated track day cars due to their low volume and limited aftermarket parts availability.

As an occasional track day car they're reliable and reasonably effective. They are quite soft by modern standards so roll is quite pronounced and brakes are marginal but OK as long as you come in for a rest after 15-20mins.

The extra grip afforded by track tyres, Toyo R888's etc, will kill the brakes all the more quickly.

Cheers

Mark

NSX 2000
15-12-2009, 05:09 PM
My first thoughts are with tyres .... they wear fast enough anyway but what are they like on the track?

Any particular tyre most suited to trackdays?

TIA