PDA

View Full Version : Sat nav / cd system

Greybloke
05-07-2005, 10:38 PM
OK so I'm contemplating a sat nav / cd system to mount in the dash to link with a changer in the boot. This will replace the original radio / tape.

Anyone done this, if so what system would you reccomend, and will I need to replace the fascia etc? Sorry if I'm a bit vague but I'm a newbie :lol:

Oh BTW I dont think I'll tackle this on my own, unless it's very easy :D

glenlewis
06-07-2005, 08:32 AM
I had a facia re-made with the bottom stereo part blanked and a few other toys added to the ashtray, a starter button and av inputs.
Its a complete w@nker of a job according to my installer but if you need any help then give me a shout and I can ask him :)

You cannot fit new stereo systems to that facia im afraid.
ctrlaltdelete boy did a group buy on replacement facias but I didnt go for that as i think dali's service is rubbish, though the product and the group buy went smoothly if very slowly ;)

My advice is dump all the oem gear, its heavy and crap, you have 2 subs, huge door speakers and a clunking pair of head units. Door speakers are easy I did mine, bit of MDF and I fitted 6.5"'s with tweeters. I would recommend a new amp for your head unit and perhaps a new sub for the center, though I had 5.1 dolby digital fitted for DVD.

Any help I can give you let me know :)

Good luck with your new car, you did me a huge favour not coming to look at mine... what the hell was I thinking of trying to sell it ???? !!!!!!

Kind regards,

Glen

Greybloke
06-07-2005, 01:46 PM
Good luck with your new car, you did me a huge favour not coming to look at mine... what the hell was I thinking of trying to sell it ???? !!!!!!

:lol: I knew you wanted to keep it :lol: :lol:

Thanks for the info, need's afair bit of planning I think :shock:

Cheers
Nick

ctrlaltdelboy
06-07-2005, 07:18 PM