PDA

View Full Version : Will more money help?

Senninha
10-03-2009, 10:20 AM
Picked this up from another thread that was going off topic ...

Quote:
TheSebringOne wrote
Thank god the BOE is printing more money!
Quote:
Noel Watson wrote
Is this a good idea?
I'm no financial expert but I do think that the current run of 'rescue plans' do seem to be lacking in overall direction and alignment.

By example and on a subject close to our hearts, the motor trade is currently experiencing tough times. Very low new car sales, pockets of interest for used cars and high job losses.

Why then is it that the UK approach to helping the industry is to inject cash to manufactureres who seem not to be doing anything with it? Would it not have been better to adopt the european tactic of incentivising owners of older family cars to p/x them with a agreed minimum value?

In Germany this is generating new 'best registration months' for companies like VW, albeit with low margins and on the lower end of the range. But surely the point is that they are selling the stock currently sitting around in storage. This in turn is keeping the economy moving. And again, if they are selling then the manufacturing can continue/resume and protect against further job losses.

If we then add to this the banking funds from tax paying cash injections, and the finance houses offer affordable credit lines, wont this simply further enhance the above results?

Moving away from the motor trade and banking funds we then have the troubled high street resellers. Has anyone really noticed the VAT cut? Would it not have been of more benefit to simply remove it from high street retailers for a period of time, thereby encouraging spending? (I would suggest keeping it on alcohol and tobacco, and cars are already addressed above)

As I said, I'm no expert, there may well be good reason for adopting what appear to be plans with no alignment.

Thoughts anyone?

Sudesh
10-03-2009, 10:33 AM