PDA

View Full Version : Delurk: so many Qs, so little time...

woodbridger
19-08-2008, 10:15 PM
Hi all. Newbie here: middle-aged bloke, lusted after NSX for years, money finally available, finding it hard to find locally, etc (sound familiar?)

My sportscar experience is pretty slim: Fiat X1/9 (mid engined fun but annoyingly water soluble); Skyline GT-R33 (superb, but the V-Spec suspension was too firm); MX5 (fun and great VFM). An NSX would be my second car (maybe 2000 miles pa?).

There's still an outside chance I'll choose another R33 Skyline or a Boxster S, but £20,000 on an NSX is just about sensible (ish ;)) and I've loved it for ages. Had seen a yellow one around here (Suffolk), but not for a while. Seems the biggest issue is that it's so rare that finding the right one may need patience (I'm sadly lacking).

For now, first Q is about high mileage and potential risk. I get a bit nervous about the idea of any car with 100,000m+ on it (except older Mercs). Is there any consensus on NSXs with high mileages - re realistic lifetime of engine, trans, suspension, etc?

Senninha
20-08-2008, 10:41 AM
Hi and welcome!

With documented Honda history there are several examples here with trouble free 120k+ mileages (some in the US have double this!)

Drop a line to Mark (BlueNSX) who I think is putting his clean NSX-T on the market. Full history and less than 40k miles

If you find a car you can always post details as its possible someone will know about it

HTH, Paul

markdas
20-08-2008, 11:18 AM
Your dilema (what a nice dilema to have) sounds identical to mine back in March.