PDA

View Full Version : Model years – differences? Prospective owner :)

mid-engined
13-09-2004, 08:22 PM
Hi guys!

I am a total newbie to the NSX. I have admired it for years, but now am seriously considering getting one. I have owned numerous mid-engined cars, as well as high-powered ones, but never a high-powered, mid-engined one. :D

I am intending to track the car occasionally, as well as use it for road trips. For me, only a manual change comes into question. I have heard that the targa compromises the car slightly (extra weight to fight the increased flexibility IIRC from "Car" magazine). Comments?

It's a bit difficult for a newbie to know what to search for... so may I ask a few q's?

I am looking at a 1995 3.0litre fixed top NSX and am very tempted. Anything that I really need to know about/look out for on an 1995 NSX?
Any big improvements since? (I know about the NSX-R, but that is a bit too pricey :? )
Does the 3.2litre make any significant difference?
Is the ABS upgrade of a few years back a major thing?

Thanks for your help

:D

BrownBear
14-09-2004, 08:01 AM
Hi guys!
Hi!

I am intending to track the car occasionally, as well as use it for road trips. For me, only a manual change comes into question. I have heard that the targa compromises the car slightly (extra weight to fight the increased flexibility IIRC from "Car" magazine). Comments?

If you track the car (or intend to), the coupe is better. There's not a wide-gulf between the coupe and the T-top, though, so it depends what you need... Maybe someone could confirm, but IIRC all of the later 3.0litres (93-97) had the same re-inforcement (ie: they're all equally heavy), but the targa is more,er, 'flexible' :)

I am looking at a 1995 3.0litre fixed top NSX and am very tempted. Anything that I really need to know about/look out for on an 1995 NSX?

Firstly, check out the FAQ on
http://www.nsxprime.com/FAQ/faq.htm -
it should give you some useful pointers (and checks).