PDA

View Full Version : flat battery

million miles
23-02-2007, 02:31 PM
I have a 96 …3 litre manual which has been in my garage for a couple of months. I have been starting it every weekend and letting it run for ten to fifteen minutes. Unfortunately I was away last weekend and forgot to start it up. I now have a flat battery.

Any suggestions? I am not in a hurry to use the car so would a trickle charger be best? Jump starting could be awkward but not impossible due to the car being in the garage.

I am a non tech person so opening the bonnet is the extent of my knowledge.

Thanks in advance

blue5
23-02-2007, 02:38 PM
Million,

This is a common occurance, it used to happen to me all the time!

There is no problem with jump staring, but as you say you dont need the car at the moment so open the front bonnett, remove the spare wheel (2 minute job), connect the battery charger to the battery and come back in a few hours.

I had an alarm on mine which used to go off when the battery was flat and i had to disconnect the positive terminal (10 mm ring spanner).

V easy job do not worry.

Steveycaz
23-02-2007, 03:58 PM
because it is a regular occurance I bought a jump starter which I connect through the battery terminals in the engine bay. This is a lot more accessible than the battery itself and is clearly explained in the manual. The jump starter cost about £40 from halfords.

Andy
23-02-2007, 04:35 PM
At the risk of stating the obvious when disconnecting the battery always disconnect the negative terminal first (and reconnect it last). If you disconnect the positive first then if the spanner accidently touches the car you would short out the battery - with unhappy results!

My NSX is a garage queen in the winter and even though I warm it up every weekend if I miss a week the battery still goes flat.

Nick Graves
23-02-2007, 06:21 PM
You really should invest in trickle chargers;

Flattening the battery is unhealthy & re-charging it too fast can be bad too.