PDA

View Full Version : NSX Targa

gunner
10-05-2006, 07:52 PM
Hi there.This is my first post on this terrific site.I am a longterm Porsche driver and have been fortunate enough at any given time to own most incarnations of the 911 from the 993 model onwards.I have never strayed from the brand but I am seriously tempted,for the first time,by the NSX.
I have arranged a test drive this weekend and I am looking for some advice and answers to the following questions.In order of priority (and forgive me if I am dredging up old topics,I have not yet had time to thoroughly explore this site):

1)Does a targa feel any different to the coupe?I am an occasional track driver so would that affect your answer?

2)Is paying up for a late car a stupid course of action?I am in the fortunate position of being able to afford a later model and tend to like more recent cars where possible.Am I missing a trick here though?Would that be very foolish from the perspective of residuals or are prices stabilising given the rarity of recent cars?

3)Is there anyone else on here who has gravitated from Porsche?Having driven some fairly monstrous 911's am I going to be disappointed by the NSX's comparative lack of bhp in comparison?

Many thanks in advance.Any tips most appreciated.

Kevin
10-05-2006, 09:44 PM
Prices on a new car will drop more than an old car, just like anything. Depends how long you intend to keep it for. The lastest car should perform the best out of the standard cars, but with the money saved on a old one a few changes will make it better then any new one for track use.

The price now for a 3.2l (from 1998 onwards) is as much as I paid for my 3.0l 1992 7 years ago.

MarkC is the best to know the Porsche to NSX change. He hasn't gone back to a Porsche yet so......

DamianW
11-05-2006, 07:31 AM