PDA

View Full Version : targa! deal or no deal?

shane
24-03-2006, 03:09 PM
hi all
im a new member to the site and not an nsx owner as yet. i have been craving one now for many years and now its on the cards. i have read alot about them over the years and i hear nothing good about the targa.it does look the part but they say its about chassis flex. (ie handling) i no this may affect the handling but surely it cant be so bad, im sure some of you guys have one and also dove the coupe. if you could tell me the difference (if any)you could put it straight that the targa is as fine as the coupe

thanks

simonprelude
24-03-2006, 03:38 PM
Alledgedly the Targa is not as stiff chassis wise, but you have to be pushing it to notice, if you want a Targa get one, if not get a coupe.

Not driven one though so could be noticeable but I doubt it.

shane
24-03-2006, 03:53 PM
yea id say your right. if i was to do track days id probley go for the coupe. its not a car that you would push enough on the roads to notice anything wrong handling wise and im sure it would still handle alot better than anything else out there, so its a fine machine no matter whats said about it..

Papalazarou
24-03-2006, 04:26 PM
Hi Shane,

If you ask the sewing circle, they'll tell you that the targa has flex which is detrimental to handling, but for 9/10th's of driving that's just not the case.
I have a targa and could have quite easily gone for a coupe, but wanted the option of open top motoring.
I also live in an area with some of the most undulating and unforgiving roads in the UK and have no issues with the handling of my car.
I think this coupe-vs-targa thing was largely in the impressionable minds of a few motoring journalists who feel the need to be overcritical and righteous about everything.
I would to an extent agree with the other guys though, If you only want to do track days, the wind in your hair is far from a priority. But if you want to enjoy your car on other levels then buy a targa.