PDA

View Full Version : How much should I pay for a 1991 Auto with 50k miles in red with FSH and good order

Boomerjake
02-07-2012, 12:35 PM
Hi Guys
I am new to the NSX world, I have wanted one for years, a friend has a 1991 auto with 50k miles with FSH including cam belt changes etc (3rd owner) It is red / Black and is in great condition except a few stone chips and 2 wheels need a refurb. Just wanted to know what kind of money I should pay?
Any advice welcome

Thanks

Senninha
02-07-2012, 02:02 PM
If its as good as you say then around £20k less any maintenance work.

As many have learnt, FDSH does'nt always cover everything. Check out the Sudesh refresh thread of Kaz's blogs for details on 'common' items that are not covered by UK service catalogue. A couple of big jobs you may want to ask your friend about are brake overhaul, ie complete strip, clean , new seals etc and the cooling system overhaul, all 23 hoses and main coolant tank. These 2 jobs could cost you many £££ at the dealer so worth finding out.

Depending on geography the wheel refresh will be £50 - 80 pre rim depnding on standard of work you're happy with.

Autos are great, the higher torque characteristic makes for a great drive ... wish I had room for one

Good luck and hope the above helps

regards and welcome,

Paul

nobby
02-07-2012, 05:35 PM
pretty much as paul's advice ... i would tally up a tidy service/spruce up kitty for the car so tie this into your price ... when purchasing my car, Sudesh and I factored in a number services to be done so do that and then add in contingency at least 20% :)

ruff estimate on hose refresh will be around 200+ on hoses alone depending on where you buy them from and a fairly labour intensive job. also factor in the parts waiting game as well as certain ones can be a pain to source.

dont let all this put you off, you should be still able to drive the car while bringing her up to scratch.

good luck

Boomerjake
03-07-2012, 08:44 AM
Thanks guys